John R. Wooden Award to be announced during new awards show

Awards show to air a few days after the Final Four and both championship games

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame recently teamed up with the Los Angeles Athletic Club with four new awards as part of a newly created sports awards television show.  San Diego State head coach Steve Fisher will be presented with the 2015 Wooden Legends of Coaching Award.

The player of the year announcement in both men’s and women’s college basketball will be made for the first time in this televised awards show format.  The show airs on Friday, April 10 at 8 p.m. Eastern on ESPN2 from Club Nokia in Los Angeles.  Rece Davis, Jay Bilas, and Jay Williams will co-host the program.

In addition, four new awards will be presented that are named after four great college stars who would eventually become excellent Hall of Famers in their own right:

  • Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award
  • Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award
  • Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award
  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award

Those awards will be managed by the Basketball Hall of Fame, and they will still be giving out the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award–which was first presented in 2004.

The full press release can be found here:

Sounds like this will be a great show to wrap up the season.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s