Revisiting my preseason picks, for mere giggles

Here is what I said way back on October 24, 2014–a few weeks before Kentucky began its’ potential romp through history.

The bold face schools will indicate which ones I got correct, and the italics will indicate which ones I got wrong.  It all starts with the 2014 champions when they bowed out to SMU in the AAC title game in Hartford on Sunday afternoon:

AAC (American Athletic Conference):  Connecticut, SMU, Cincinnati, Memphis, and Temple

American East:  Hartford

ACC (Atlantic Coast Conference):  Duke, UNC, Louisville, Syracuse* (BINGO!!! due to the results of NCAA investigation), North Carolina State, Pittsburgh, Virginia, Virginia Tech

Atlantic Sun:  Florida Gulf Coast.

Atlantic 10:  VCU, Dayton, St. Joseph’s, and George Mason

Big East:  Villanova, Georgetown, Marquette, and Xavier

Big Sky:  Weber State

Big South:  Coastal Carolina

Big Ten:  Wisconsin (regular season, and also the post-season), Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, and Illinois

Big 12:  Kansas, Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas State, and Iowa State

Big West:  UC-Irvine

CAA (Colonial Athletic Association):  William & Mary

Conference USA:  Louisiana Tech, Tulsa, and UAB

Horizon League:  Wisconsin-Green Bay (Valparaiso could be the last team selected if Syracuse is ineligible).  Turned out it would be the same team Bryce Drew beat on a last-second shot in 1998 as the last entrant in 2015, Ole Miss.  So that entry counted.

Ivy League:  Harvard (only conference that does not hold a post-season tournament)

MAAC (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference):  Iona

MAC (Mid-American Conference):  Akron

MEAC (Mid Eastern Athletic Conference):  North Carolina Central

Missouri Valley:  Wichita State and Indiana State

Mountain West:  UNLV and New Mexico

NEC (Northeast Conference):  Central Connecticut State

OVC (Ohio Valley Conference):  Murray State.
So close, yet so far away.

Pac 12:  Arizona, Oregon, and UCLA

Patriot League:  American University of Washington, DC

SEC (Southeastern Conference):  Kentucky, Florida, LSU, and Auburn

Southern Conference:  Wofford

Southland Conference:  Stephen F. Austin

Summit League:  Indiana-Purdue of Fort Wayne (IPFW)

SWAC (Southwestern Athletic Conference):  Alcorn State

Sun Belt:  Georgia State

WAC (Western Athletic Conference):  New Mexico State

WCC (West Coast Conference):  Gonzaga, St. Mary’s, and BYU

LAST FOUR IN:  Temple, Auburn, Illinois, and Alabama-Birmingham (qualified instead for the Round of 64)

FIRST FOUR OUT:  Wake Forest, Northwestern, USC, and Vanderbilt

NEXT FOUR OUT:  Miami (Florida), Washington, Loyola (Chicago), and Richmond

Final 2015 Totals:  39 out of 68 for 57.35 percent accuracy.

In comparison to 2014, those totals were 33 out of 68 for 48.53 percent accuracy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s